An extraordinary walk in a setting that is wild yet easy walkable made possible by a group of enthusiastic volunteers. That’s exactly what we did a year after the route was re-opened for the public. It got partially destroyed in April 2021 by a 4 cubic rock rolling down. We climbed around 600 steps to conquer a 186m height difference with gorgeous views.

The history of the path goes back to 1895. In the 1940-ies it got destroyed because of the construction of the Salanfe dam. In 1990 the AAGB (Association des Amis des Granges et du Biolley) saw the light. Numerous volunteers started the renovation works. In terms of working hours it represents a stunning 320 days!






We started from the car park at the entrance to Les Granges (Salvan), crossed the village, passed in front of the Hôtel Balance and entered the woods following a trail as far as the Dailley friends’ hut, then followed “la cascade”, crossed the bridge and climbed along the gorges and had a refreshments at the Auberge du Vallon de Van.
We returned to Les Granges via the Col de la Matze.
